Showbiz

The Blog Only About Showbiz

Deepika Padukone on the men in her life and more

Posted by jahanzaibmemon on December 15, 2007


Deepika Padukone is just a film old (she has done a Kannada film Aishwarya down South) and she’s already dubbed as the next superstar. For her debut, she gets to act alongside Shah Rukh Khan in Om Shanti Om ; an opportunity most aspiring starlets would simply kill for. Shah Rukh and Farah Khan have been highly protective of their new discovery. She has been kept away from the prying eyes and fingers of the media. But for no longer, as Deepika finally speaks up!

This is your first film and a big one at that, how do you feel right now?
I was actually very nervous and excited especially when I met Shah Rukh and Farah Khan. Farah was the one to calm me down and helped me out with scenes. I really want all of you to like and enjoy the film. We had a great time making the film.

You are the daughter of sportsman Prakash Padukone. What inputs did he give you?
You’ll be surprised but I received lots of acting tips. In fact I used to often sit with my mom and dad and discuss my performance.

You wear many lovely outfits in this film…
Farah was quite sure of how she wanted my look to be. So costume selection was easy, we went and met Bharat and Doris to discuss the look we wanted to portray. We were quite prepared about the visual aspect.

Has your look been inspired by the different actresses of the 70s?
Actually we haven’t been inspired from the looks of different actresses, we’ve just been inspired by the era on the whole. We haven’t copied anything. I feel Farah thought I have the look and attitude of the olden day actresses, which is the chief reason I was cast.

What’s your character like?
All I can say at this point is that Shanti is the top heroine of the 70s who a junior artist (Shah Rukh Khan) is strongly attracted to.

How will you spend the day of Om Shanti Om ’s release?
I’d like to spend the day with my friends and family at the theater hall.

How is Shah Rukh Khan to work with?
I remember one day I had really high fever, but I still had to come to the shoot. Shah Rukh came to know of this and immediately postponed all shooting for another day. He’s a professional person, but at the same time he’s a very nice human being who cares a lot.

Do you have any particular preference with the kind of people you’d like to work with?
I would like to work with all actors. As an actor it’s a different experience to work with different actors and directors. So I’d definitely like to work with everyone.

How are things between you and Ranbir Kapoor?
I would like to say that we were friends and we remain friends and there is nothing more than that.

Leave a Reply

 
